top of page

Discover Inverted Logic

Your Go-To Source

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
political rally

Contact

Home: Contact
  • Writer's picturepeterclark7979

POLITICAL OPINIONS #48: RED FOR ED MOVEMENT IN ARIZONA

[Originally Published on May 13th, 2018 on Wordpress]


INTRODUCTION:


I know that this blog post certainly has the potential to invoke a lot of conflicting responses and perceptions from my readers. I am not obtusely resistant to funding for education, because definitely understand that it is important. However, I personally feel that we need to for one make sure that whatever tax dollars are allocated for education are effectively spent versus frivolously utilized. Also, I have the inclination to desire that teachers take more responsibility for the results or lack thereof there students. Some may claim that such measures are unrealistic and may even be targeting educators, I would respectfully disagree.


Granted, this is merely based on my own anecdotal experience, however, it is compelling enough for me to have the conviction to advocate for reform in education. No, not the variety of reform the teacher's Unions of Arizona is crying for. Let me expound upon my marred and emotionally visceral not to mention painful experience with the public education system. I grew up in the state of Massachusetts, which is a state that is generally regarded as for having "quality" public schools.  As of 2018, Massachusetts was ranked as the number one state in regards to education. From a historical standpoint, it makes sense considering education has always been a focal point for the state. Especially, when it is generally recognized the state was one of the first states to have the public schools. However, by what metric is the quality of the education in the state of Massachusetts is superior to that of other states.


Let me tell you about my experience.  Prior to being in elementary school, I was put on an education plan. In other words, I was labeled with my stigmatized slur of being a "Special Education" student. Which in the world of education, regardless of how "liberal" the teachers are is a scarlet letter. A giant red "R" for the politically incorrect term of retarded. Alienated by your peers for having to migrate to smaller groups for more focused learning. However, I was never diagnosed with a central or concentrated learning disability by these liberal hacks. Essentially, we are not going to dedicate the effort to figure out what your learning difficulties, but would rather humiliate you and have you go there the twisted red tape associated with this useless special education system in this country.


It was very painful to admit that I was a special education student on such a public forum. It a label that really destroyed my self-esteem and still to this very day kills me to associate with myself. However, I feel that this apathetic approach to education is not reflecting a quality education. Regardless of the absurd metrics, they utilize to ascertain the "top" public schools in the United States. When I was never taught anything that was meant to be practically applied in any meaningful manner in the workforce or in the real world. But rather was taught how to take a standardized scan-tron test to appease the scientific notion of quantification of results. Personally, I always prefer to champion science, however, there are instances where it falls short. Teaching for the test is a fruitless endeavor not only does a disservice to the student but is a really lazy way out for the teacher. Versus taking the effort to actually challenge your students in a manner beyond the academic model of reality they are indoctrinated to perceive as the true nature of the student body.


Needless to say, I feel that even though I came from the state with the number one for public schools, that I was failed by the system. While some may say my hard feelings towards teachers is unfounded, I would strongly disagree. Just look at all the grammatical and syntax errors on this blog! My English teachers certainly failed to do their job. Even when they were significantly better paid than the majority of teachers in the rest of the United States. Even when they were insulated and protected by their unions a myriad of educators who have been under-performing for decades still had gainful employment.  My frustration with my abject experiences with public education is only intensified by the Red for Ed movement and resurrected by this past week's " Teacher's Appreciation Week".  Appreciation?  I personally do not even believe they deserve civil treatment. The main reason why I am interjecting my experiences when I lived in Massachusetts is to illustrate the fact that, increased spending will be futile in increasing the quality of education in the state of Arizona.  I grew up in a state that allocated much more money to education and still ended up with a piss poor education. I understand that overall state spending was one of the many grievances of Arizona teachers had that led to their demonstration on the capital a few weeks ago.  However, adhering to all the demands of pestilent children will not guarantee favorable results.



While I am a small government libertarian, I am not so isolated from the facts of reality that until we find a better alternative to public education that some funds to need to be allocated to it. However, we must keep spending to a minimum and make sure that the more is being appropriately utilized in the manner it was allocated for. I am most certainly purposing that if we are going to continue to fund public schools with tax dollars we need greater transparency in regards to how the school districts throughout the state are choosing to use these funds. Any parent or even taxpayer for that matter should be on-board for a greater level of transparency in regards to spending for the public schools.  Which is why I could not endorse Michael McFarland, any more than I already do for the LD14 seat in the Arizona house. Part of Mr. McFarland's platform he will require all governmental institutions to publish fiscal data in a public manner, which would include spending. I feel that we can then keep our local school districts in check when it comes to pork barrel and other forms of frivolously spending. [3]


While I feel making sure we keep the spending on education in check is a step in the right direction, it certainly isn't the silver bullet. I feel that the teachers are not held accountable for poor performance.  That is why I would stress less regulation and mandatory criterion from the state and federal level and we allow the school distinct to take more control of the curriculum and internal policy. First of all, every district is going to have different educational concerns and needs, due to various factors ranging from the local economy to the specific needs of the student population. It is absurd to hold the Eloy school district to the same parameters of that as of Gilbert because both towns are uniquely different from one another. How can the state or even better the federal government understand the finer details of the educational needs of the student bodies of both towns?  Second, we need to keep this at the lowest level of government possible, which would mean at the local municipal level. I would from an idealistic standpoint purpose that each town chooses to hold town-hall meetings including on a monthly, weekly etc. basis.  This meeting would include parents, teachers, and school administrators. These meetings could better help shape the curriculum and policy for the school district.


However, to quickly rebound back to the point of funding, I would pose the question, why does it have to be the government that makes sure our schools are well equipped? Couldn't the private citizens if they are concerned form charities for school supplies or donate organizations already in existence?  The answer to that is most certainly!!  I personally believe that many people become complacent when they believe that someone else (the government) will take care of the specific situation. Essentially an example of a real-life manifestation of the theory of diffusion of responsibility. Why should the individual put in the effort if a larger entity is promising to make good on managing the concern. However, as well all know the government is inefficient and weighted down by stifling amounts of red tape. So why should we give them all the power to remedy every situation? One individual whom I need to give a lot of credit to is my friend Fabian. Fabian formed a non-profit organization to provide school supplies to underprivileged students in the metro-Phoenix area. The name of the organization is Fabian's Friends, instead of crying for increasing spending, please check out the link and reach out to see how you can help out [4].


Also,  I am disgusted by all of the teachers in this state claiming that they need a raise because they cannot afford to pay their expenses. Well, I found a very interesting statistic, the average median income for a teacher is $47,890 annually. Now, despite me being assigned the title of special education student back when I was in school, however, I certainly understand the difference between an average and a median. However, even if a teacher's salary falls within one standard deviation less than the median, they still probably make more than I do an annual basis. Guess what folks, I am still able to pay my bills on time and own a house! So maybe if these educators are really of such superior wisdom, maybe they ought to be acquainted with the idea of living within there means [5].



FOOT NOTES:


1. (Video) https://youtu.be/NYBNn-c0hQ0

2.https://invertedlogicblog.wordpress.com/2018/05/13/political-opinions-48-red-for-ed-movement-in-arizona

3. https://mcfarlandforaz.com/platform/

4.  https://www.facebook.com/fabiansfriendsfun/

5. https://www.azcentral.com/story/news/local/arizona-education/2018/03/08/arizona-public-school-teachers-elementary-high-school-paid-compared-other-states/407850002/


10 views0 comments
bottom of page